Awards

Model Literacy Award

 

Deadline: October 10
Chair: Jan Killick
Email: jkillick@earthlink.net
Purpose: To recognize and publicize outstanding reading/language arts programs in schools.

 


Past Presidents' Memorial Award

Deadline: November 1
Chair: Barb Kruse
Email: brkruse@frii.com
Purpose: To recognize an outstanding reading teacher in his/her first five years of teaching to honor the work of decreased past presidents of the Colorado Council International Reading Association. Learn More


Outstanding Administrative Leadership in Reading Award

Deadline: December 5
Chair: Brenda Dyer
Email: Brenda.dyer@gmail.com
Purpose: To promote and recognize administrative support of quality reading instruction in Colorado schools. Learn More


Kay Mervar Outstanding Reading Educator Award

Deadline: December 1
Chair: Amy Sassano
Email: amy.sassano@weldre5j.org
Purpose: To recognize a classroom teacher who has made an outstanding contribution to excellence in reading instruction. Learn More


Fannie Stabenow Award for Outstanding Contribution to CCIRA

Deadline: November 1
Chair: James Erekson
Email: james.erekson@unco.edu
Purpose: To recognize a CCIRA member that has made significant contributions to the organization. Learn More


Colorado Young Writers' Award

Deadline: December 1
Chair: Kristin Filce
Email: kfilce@jeffco.k12.co.us
Purpose: To encourage and recognize outstanding children's writing in Colorado.


Colorado Children's Book Award (CCBA)

Deadline: March 1
Chair: Marcie Haloin
Email: ccbaward@gmail.com
Purpose: To encourage love of reading by conducting an annual contest in which the children of Colorado vote for their favorite picture book and their favorite junior novel.


Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award

Deadline: December 31
Chair: Dodie Ownes
Email: dodie.ownes@gmail.com
Co-Chair: Kristin Roper
Email: Kristin.roper@gmail.com
Purpose: The committee publicizes the Young Adult book award, publishes information about voting and nominating procedures, establishes criteria for eligibility, tabulates votes and nominations, and announces the winner.


Celebrate Literacy Award

Deadline: November 1
Chair:
 Janele Husband
Email: janelehusband@msn.com
Purpose: To recognize an individual, organization, or institution for significant contributions to literacy in a community, state or nation.